• Engage. Inspire. Empower.

Deerfield Public School District 109 Deerfield Public School District 109 Deerfield Public School District 109 Deerfield Public School District 109 Deerfield Public School District 109

Board of Education

Your Elected Board of Education Members

Board of Education members are elected by the voters who reside within the District 109 boundaries. Elections are held every two years.

Click here to send an email to all members of the Board of Education, or see each member’s contact information below.

Name Job Title (Term Expires) Home Phone Office Phone Mobile Phone Email
Nick Begley President (2019) (847) 317-0814 (847) 334-0200 nick.begley@dps109.org
Sari Montgomery Secretary (2021) (847) 433-7430 (312) 676-9872  – sari.montgomery@dps109.org
Kenneth J. Ashman Member (2019) (847) 912-6100 (312) 596-1700 ken.ashman@dps109.org
Katie Bittner Member (2021) (224) 303-3618 (847) 345-2567 katie.bittner@dps109.org
Scott Kluge Member (2021) (312) 952-1826 scott.kluge@dps109.org
Ryan Kuo Member (2019) (912) 596-2006 ryan.kuo@dps109.org
Jodi Shapira Member (2019) (847) 902-0223 jodi.shapira@dps109.org

Strategic Plan

Description of the portrait of a District 109 graduateOn Monday, April 24, 2017, the District 109 Board of Education approved the 2017 Strategic Plan. The Board and administration developed the Strategic Plan with input from more than 1,700 people in our community through interviews, focus groups, surveys, and data analysis. Input came from teachers, parents, students, support staff, community members, business leaders, government leaders, and administrators. 

The plan lays out the mission, vision, portrait of a graduate, and guiding principles of the District, and outlines three goals and eighteen objectives that will drive our work over the next few years. The three broad goals clearly point to what we value:

  • GOAL 1: Student Success. Inspire and empower each student to grow socially, emotionally, and academically
  • GOAL 2: Teaching, Learning & Innovation. Deliver an engaging learning environment that promotes excellence
  • GOAL 3: Governance & Operations. Allocate resources in alignment with the strategic goals

Click to view the 2017 Strategic Plan.

Board of Education Policies

The Board of Education sets the policies of District 109, which the administration and staff follow to ensure that the District provides the best education of students and meets its responsibilities to all stakeholders.

View the searchable Board Policy Manual online.

Board Intranet

Board Member access to Board Meeting packets and documents: Board folder (prior to May 2016)  and  BoardBook   Boardbook Logo