• Engage. Inspire. Empower.

Deerfield Public School District 109 Deerfield Public School District 109 Deerfield Public School District 109 Deerfield Public School District 109 Deerfield Public School District 109

Teaching and Learning

Welcome to the Department for Teaching & Learning

Dr. Jeff Zoul
Assistant Superintendent for Teaching & Learning
847-945-1844 x7237
jzoul@dps109.org
Dr. Zoul’s Blog

Dr. Jenell Mroz
Executive Director for Student Services
847-945-1844 x7229
jmroz@dps109.org

Marcie Faust
Director for Innovative Learning
(847) 945-1844 x7220
mfaust@dps109.org
Director’s Blog

Amy Rubin
Director for Learning and Assessment Services
847-945-1844 x7207
arubin@dps109.org

Joanna Klopfer
Assistant Director for Student Services
(847) 945-1844 x 2105
jklopfer@dps109.org

Patti Kalaytowicz
Administrative Assistant for Teaching & Learning
847-945-1844 x7234
pkalaytowicz@dps109.org

Jan Kleinfeldt
Administrative Assistant for Student Services
847-945-1844 x7236
jkleinfeldt@dps109.org

 

Hot Topics

Common Core State Standards & PARCC Testing

PARCC Parent Information Presentation: Director for Learning & Assessment Services Amy Rubin shared valuable resources to help parents understand PARCC reports and scores during information sessions held on January 7, 2016.

Standards-Based Grading

About Us

The mission of the Teaching & Learning Department is to provide leadership, service, and support in all areas of curriculum, instruction, assessment, and professional learning so that all students and teachers perform to their highest potential. We work with teachers, administrators, and support staff across all district schools to ensure a guaranteed and viable curriculum is in place at all schools across grade levels and content areas. Although the work of Teaching & Learning is wide ranging, we often start our work by focusing on four critical questions, the answers to which drive subsequent actions:

  1. What is it we want our students to know?
  2. How will we know if they have learned it?
  3. How will we respond when some students do not learn as expected?
  4. How will we respond when some students have already mastered the intended learning targets?

ISBE Illinois Report Cards

The online Illinois Report Card offers a complete view of public schools in the state of Illinois. It offers a graphic view of PARCC assessment results, as well as measures of  school environment, student demographic and staff make-up. You can view the District 109 report card, and all individual school report cards: